Today's Paper Digital FAQ Podcast Latest Obits Her Jobs Classifieds Newsletters Puzzles Circulars

Southwest Arkansas teams begin postseasons

by Josh Richert | November 11, 2021 at 10:00 p.m.

Six of the 7 teams in Southwest Arkansas competing in the state football playoffs get their postseasons underway tonight.

Prescott, in Class 3A, and Murfreesboro and Lafayette County in 2A, are all home for tonight's 7 p.m. tilts. Ashdown, in 4A, and 2A schools Foreman and Mineral Springs have road games to begin the playoffs. Dierks (5-4) received a bye in the first round after winning 7-2A for the second straight year.

Ashdown (8-2) was the third seed from 7-4A and travels to Lonoke (8-2). The Jackrabbits were runners-up in 2-4A.

The 5-3A champion Curley Wolves (9-0) host the Lakeside Beavers (3-7), who finished fifth in 6-3A.

The Cougars (4-4) were second in 7-2A and host the England Lions (0-8), after finishing fifth in 6-2A.

The Rattlers (3-6) were third in 7-2A and go up against Marked Tree (4-5). The Indians were fourth in 3-2A.

Foreman (2-8) was fourth in 7-2A and travels to Quitman to play the Bulldogs (7-3), who finished seocnd in 4-2A.

The Hornets (0-7) are the fifth seed and on the road at Bigelow (10-0), which won 4-2A.

The Outlaws await the winner of Poyen and Carlisle.


Sponsor Content